Information

Date Updated: February 13, 2007
Address: 1006 King ST W
Phone: (416) 977-1996

Back to Adam Paul & Associates Opticians (formerly King West Optical)

Reviews & Ratings

Sort Reviews:

Outraged

Reviews: 1Badges: 0This user has a UserRank of 0
Overall: July 24, 2008
19 out of 22 people found this review helpful. The fact that this man is still in business disgusts me. I'm amused that he was obviously the first person to write a review in his own defence - and that he'd be arrogant and dillusional enough not to realize how apparent it is that it's him who's writing it - who else would defend such pathetic behaviour? Silverman wasn't fired - the man retired, he's 76 years old! Adam clearly hasn't noticed that Silverman is an elderly man. Only a true coward would hit or assault someone who is aged, or in a potentially lesser position to defend themselves (even though Silverman could probably kick that idiot's butt on his worst day).

Not only should the BBB shut him down and forbid him from any further business ventures in the public realm, but the community in which he lives and works should make a stand to remove him from the area. Start a petition, picket his store, do something - anything - in the name of honest business owners everywhere.

To Adam - let's hope there's some kind of medication already invented to fix whatever it is you have. You don't deserve to live amoungst, normal, rational, civil human beings. Wild animals have a greater sense of compusure than you do - maybe we should feed you to them.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

cober6711

Reviews: 4Badges: 2This user has a UserRank of 5
Overall: September 4, 2007
10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. 1006 King Street West is now a mortgage brokerage, and funny enough, a licenced Optometrist opened up right next door!
I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

arich

Reviews: 1Badges: 1This user has a UserRank of 5
Overall: August 4, 2007
20 out of 21 people found this review helpful. The slime moved to Mississauga under the new name of Adam & Eves Optical. Same scams though, regardless of how biblical the name is.
I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Chris Overall: March 1, 2007
18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Obviously the adverse publicity is having some effect. He just recently changed the name from King West Optical to Adam Paul & Associates to obviously imply the location is under now ownership.

Same guy, same bad business practices, an embarrassment to the optical industry for sure! I live in the area and every time I walk by I don't see anyone in the store, I really hope he goes out of business. What goes around comes around.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
hayley Overall: February 21, 2007
18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. He enjoys threatening women.
I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
I Love Silverman Overall: February 21, 2007
18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. See this news story. This guy was ripping people off by selling fake name brand glasses and giving people test he wasn't qualified to give:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ot9Z0uO7w fM

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
RonB Overall: February 16, 2007
25 out of 26 people found this review helpful. This guy sells fake merchandise (was served cease-and-desist papers by both Oakley and Gucci for selling knockoffs with designer logos on them -- at full designer prices!). He also fails to deliver paid-for merchandise. As well, he offers free eye exams using equipment he is not licensed to operate (because he is not a trained optometrist) -- and the results are frequently erroneous, so that people end up with the wrong lenses.

Now he's facing criminal charges for attacking a consumer-advocacy journalist who tried to get refunds for customers who had been sold fake designer frames at full price, or had received useless glasses because his "free exam" had produced inaccurate results, or who had paid for merchandise he would not deliver. The story is available here: http://www.citynews.ca/news/news_7637.aspx

He is a violent and mentally unstable scam artist who sells fake merchadise and practices optometry without a license. You might want to shop elsewhere. :)

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Jimmy Overall: February 14, 2007
13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. I got a question this guy gets in trouble with the law and is known for selling fake glasses and he is still in business?

Sorta reminds of that crappy computer company MDG. After thousands of people complain to the BBB and others no one does nothing to close them down.

So with this guy doing all this bad stuff to people and people complaining he is still in business.

Maybe someone should get there head outta their butt and close this guy down.

I recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
scott hughes Overall: February 10, 2007
25 out of 26 people found this review helpful. The Plimmer guy is a complete arrogant self centred bastard, I tried to do business with him , but hes just a head case, people beware, hes changed the name of his store, Don't be fooled with the name change
I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

TheHux

Reviews: 17Badges: 3This user has a UserRank of 5
Overall: February 8, 2007
26 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Just check out this video to see what kind of a dangerous lunatic the owner is: http://www.citynews.ca/news/news_7637.aspx

Sca ry stuff. This man should be locked away.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Happy Gilmore Overall: February 7, 2007
22 out of 24 people found this review helpful. How much more pathetic could the owner of King West Optical get??? After seeing his most recent tirade on City TV, I have to believe this man is not only certifiable, but retarded as well. I mean slamming a door into an old man's face and then throwing snowballs at him like a kid in a schoolyard while knowingly being videotaped?? Come on, get real buddy! If I didn't find him so sad and pathetic, I might actually find his behavior mildly amusing (if he was 8 years old, perhaps). Hmm, maybe the Pittsburgh Penguins could use him as an enforcer for Sydney Crosby, but then again he might have to pick on guys a lot bigger and younger than Mr. Silverman (age 75) so I doubt he'd last in that job either (*chuckle*).
I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Tamzin Cater Overall: February 7, 2007
25 out of 26 people found this review helpful. He made the news again...

http://www.citynews.ca/news/news_7637 .aspx

He should be ashamed of himself, though I somehow doubt that he is. As I pass the store every day, I had planned to go there later this year when my glasses prescription is due to be renewed. I certainly will not
be doing that now, and I am very glad I found out about his business practices first.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
christine Overall: January 31, 2007
21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. I was going to buy glasses here. Then I got a bad feeling. I perceived the owners arrogance as confidence, really. Arrogance might be another way of looking at it. I was going to pay him upwards of 600 or 700 dollars for a pair of glasses, he pretty much had me sold. But when he shut the door in my face upon my next visit, that's when I decided to check him out on-line. Glad I did. When a person is in business, dealing with that kind of money for a casual purchase, they've got to be more kind / considerate. (Maybe display a little customer service / cordial consideration.)

I only went to his store once or twice, for short times. I thought he was helpful. When I returned again, I felt like a nuisance to him. He may or may not be good at what he does, but he ought to realize that at $700 the client is doing him as much of a favor by giving him their business as he is for his "expertise."

He lost my $$$. I'm quite shocked at the cavalier way he does business.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Iuliana Overall: January 24, 2007
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. This guy is very arrogant and mean ! I am so happy that I didn't't do business with him ! I was just about to order from him but he was so mean with me (while I was asking questions about diffrent frames)I had to leave cause I realize I won't be pleased with the results!
I had no idea about his scams either ! I am glad that I ordered my glasses somewhere else !!!

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Andy Overall: December 19, 2006
27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. As I live in the area, it made sense for me to try this guy out for new contact lenses.

He royally screwed up my prescription to the point where he was giving me *plus* prescriptions, whereas I am completely in the *minus*... when i told him to stop, and take them again, he told me the equipment didn't lie... i asked him to do it again, and sure enough he got it in the ball park. whatever.

Not thinking anything of it, I bought lenses from him as per the prescription. I didn't have any real problems with the lenses as such, but it seemed very suspicious that he gave me my 6 months supply of lenses loose in a carrier bag, and they were all of different brands.

Like I said, there didn't seem to be anything wrong with the end product and prescription, but it just all seemed a very unprofessional outfit from the get go.

I didn't go back.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
bimmy Overall: January 4, 2007
23 out of 24 people found this review helpful. got worst experience here, beware of this guy, he has been on the news 3 times and should be shut down permanently !

http://www.citynews.ca/news/news_6263.aspx

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Dave Overall: December 29, 2006
29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. I ordered a new pair of glasses from this guy. He had them made. I went in to have them adjusted to my face, and get this... HE REFUSED to adjust the positioning of the arms so that they would sit level on my face! He actually wanted me to walk out of the store with the glasses sitting on my face crooked. When I refused to pay the balance owing because he wouldn't adjust them to fit my face, he called the police!! I AM NOT KIDDING. I learned from the officers that this isn't the first time there has been "issues" with this guy.
It is my opinion that this guy runs THE WORST optical store I have EVEN been in (and I have been purchasing glasses for over 30 years).

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Regret Overall: December 12, 2006
22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. I got the most horrible service here. Buyers beware! If you ever need an optician, always seek referrals from family or friends. I wish I had. I just went by convenience of location. Regret it totally.
I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Mark Overall: October 8, 2006
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. I also saw the Silverman piece on the news about this guy selling Fake Oakleys. His response to the allegations was so arrogant and nasty that I felt the need to call the store. Left a message on their machine that I would never use their services and that I was appauled at the man's response. That is all that was said as I know it was taped. Quite polite I thought. The female voice on the machine says they are operated or owned by BOSS LIMOUSINES, another company I won't be using or recommending. The man called me back twice. I told him I said what I needed to on the machine and I had nothing to say to him. I hung up. He called back. Asked me if I was Jewish.I said I wasn't, and what did that have to do with his behaviour. Wait for it. He then said that Silverman was jewish and that is what "they" do, go after people. I said I'd heard enough racist remarks and hung up.
This guy is a piece of work. I would suggest to anyone to not use his services ever.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Miguel Overall: October 3, 2006
26 out of 27 people found this review helpful. I saw what happened on "Silverman helps", this guy is selling fake sunglasses and he finally got caught! His reaction on television was pathetic, he acted like a child, I would never give this man any business. His actions to being caught showed that he is guilty and very unprofessional.
I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Jaytee Overall: October 11, 2006
24 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Avoid this place like the plague.

http://www.citynews.ca/news/news_4085. aspx

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam
Bernice Overall: October 18, 2006
27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. I have recently purchased a condo in this area,and although I wear contacts,I definately WON'T be visiting King West Optical.

I find it hard to understand why the Government of Ontario,allows merchants such as this,to operate unfettered .Is the owner, Adam Plimmer,NOT breaking the law? I am truly disgusted by what I have seen on CP24,this business should be closed and the owner should face criminal charges.

I do not recommend this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes | No | Report as Spam

Back to Adam Paul & Associates Opticians (formerly King West Optical)


Add Your Review




Forgot your password?
Register